When Education Sucks

When I received my A-Level results, most people were excited on my behalf but I was the least excited. I had seen my desired career as an IT expert vanish in thin air. I was very sure that though my Dad had let me choose what course to fill for on my JAB he wasn’t going to give me that luxury again, I had refused to fill law even as my fourth choice. So now I had blown my chances, and dream by not getting the full points. I remember proposing to resit A-Level just to ensure that I would get the right course for me but boy oh boy however convincing I was the only answer I got was, the money is mine so why bother. And I remember my cousin brother reprimanded me for being so short sighted and narrow minded, Law is the best course he said.

Well to cut the story short, I applied for BLAW hoping beyond hope that I wouldn’t be admitted, I actually only applied to MUK, though “they” wanted be to try all the available options. Well I was admitted and I didnot disappoint … not that I didnot have my share of fun while at campus and Lumumba hall.
I had now become a lawyer, by the way I have never admired those people but alas I was now one of them.

I was to proceed to the next step and unfortunately some thing called pre-entry had been introduced, WHY I don’t need to know. I was actually too relaxed whilst my friends were too hard on the books and I remember one of my Very good friend GBHer said to me “we shall miss not having you with us at the Center”. Hey! it struck me that I could miss out on proceeding with my uni friends in the academic struggle. So I hit the road running AGAIN. However I convinced myself that even if I don’t get admitted I still have time to switch to my beloved IT or I could join the music industry, all it takes is shouting out words, or I could spin some disks.

Fortunately I was admitted at the LDC, real roasting, it was. I say of during my time at the center I hated the fact that I had signed up for it. And lo and behold, the final exams came out “not so good”. Several thoughts started running through my head, why not do an MBA or Journalism or IT and leave this profession once and for all…. I passed, thank God and was finally awarded the Bar course Diploma(PG Dip L.P). This time round I felt I should go to Binaisa grounds, Law Development Centre Kampala for the grad (I had refused to attend the grad at Freedom Square, Makerere University. Enough with the schooling stuff.

The really sucking begins after school, when you realise that all that rosy stuff you were told about getting the best jobs, enough money and you know! living the good life was all lies. Am told it ended when the current gov’t violently grabbed power, destroying all the industries, ransacking the treasury, leave alone rendering the industrial city a ghost town…. blah blah blah. Its not that the jobs, and the money run out in the country, no not at all, they all are there but in reserve. I have always wondered why a person can make over twenty job applications and they are not called to a single interview? Not that their marks are pathetic or what, but job advertising has become just that a technicality, a by-the-way, mere commercial puff, just a cover up. well I do believe that some jobs are still given on merit but even then there still has to be a little technical know who or a carpet interview or something of the sort.

SO WHY DOES ONE HAVE TO SPEND OVER TWENTY YEARS IN SCHOOL? they don’t teach experience in school… do they? But then much as education in Uganda sucks, going to school must have been the best thing to have ever happened to me, am at least able to communicate intelligibly and that is worth more than any thing the world can offer.

PLEASE for those still in school, love school, keep in school and work extra harder. Life is such a bitch and even the technical-know-who can only favour the educated.
I was wondering, JUST WONDERING what if I had landed the best job soon after scholl, would I really think that education in Uganda sucks OR CARE ABOUT THE THOUSANDS OF UNEMPLOYED YOUTH. Actually I do believe and firmly so! that education in Uganda doesn’t suck at all only that the system has failed it. There will come a time I believe when the efforts we put in our schooling will be rewarded abundantly. Education doesn’t suck Does it? Unless if you are not educated, not that your opinion will matter though. Friend in the struggle keep the hope alive and your spirits high at least do it for the health reasons.

4 Responses to “When Education Sucks”

  1. Don't call me muzungu if you're an adult Says:

    nope education doesn’t suck; its great, was great and will remain great. having now found uganda and it’s folk, my education is full steam ahead, thank you!

  2. Mel Says:

    Hi there. The outcome is the reward. No? Becoming educated. Learning. Uni fees are enormous tho and that does suck

Leave a Reply

